Hoppy Easter!

Hello All! We had a very good weekend and it was so great for me to get away! Work is getting stressful, maybe I’m making it that way but with a baby and work at the same time it gets stressful much quicker!
Anyway, Tracy and Kelton came over Friday around 11am and we hit the road. We made a great road trip only taking 5 hours to get to San Angelo with 2 babies! Awesome! At one point during the drive Sophie was fussing as we were searching for a rest stop to change a poop-filled diaper and feed her and Kelton got sick of listening to her and started crying too. My mom calls while both kids are wailing. Tracy and I are laughing. My mom says, “Uh oh . . . two babies upset?” I said, “Oh yeah” and I chuckled. My mom says, “Yeah that’s real fun isn’t it?” with a load of sarcasm. My poor mother had to listen to Tracy and I cry for hours on end apparently. We are told we were not dream babies and that we made her life a living nightmare for the first year. Anyway, since Tracy and I don’t have to listen to that everyday with two kids we found great humor in it at the time! Overall the trip was very easy considering we did have two kids under the age of 1 traveling 275 miles . . .

David and Andy left late that evening and got in town around midnight. We all had a very busy day and crashed out. Sophie slept like a log, went down at 7pm and didn’t get up until 7am the next morning.

We did have a tragedy that still makes me cry when I think about it. Saturday we went over to Mimi’s (that’s my mom’s mom) as Granda got to leave the nursing home to come over for the day. So we all went over. Mom, David (my step-dad) and Aunt Cathy were there as well. Mom, Tracy and I had gone to get some things at Target and upon our return we found the family searching for Mimi’s little mini Poodle, “Dude.” He was only about 7lbs and was indeed old. David and I got in my car and started driving around. David Hendricks (step-dad) calls me on my cell and says, “Can you come in the alley, I think I found something . . .” We drove down there and David had seen someone’s back gate open so he peeked in and they had a swimming pool. Poor little Dude had fallen in and drowned and was already lifeless by the time David found him. David laid him on the ground outside of the home and I just burst into tears and bent down and loved on his little wet body. I took his collar off of him so that I could give it to Mimi in case she wanted to keep it. I noticed the tag that hung from it was the one I had purchased for her many years ago that had “Dude” stamped across it with Mimi’s phone number. That little booger would bolt out the door any chance he got and so I had given that to Mimi once in case he ran off and someone found him . . . . Anyway we had to tell Mimi the news and she was absolutely heartbroken. For those that don’t know, my grandfather (we call Granda) is in a nursing home so Mimi’s all-time companion was that little Poodle. David (my David), Andy and David (step-dad) dug a little grave for him in Mimi’s back yard and buried him properly. Mimi told my mom today that once all the company was gone she took a chair over and sat next to his grave and “had a talk with him” . . .

Onto to the brighter side of the weekend . . . it was good to be with my family, as it always is. We went to Southland Baptist, the church I grew up in and that my Dad and Carol (step-mom) are still very, very active in. Dad and Carol were actually teaching the Sunday school class that was our age group so we went to that class after we dropped Sophie off for her first time in a nursery! The class was quite intriguing as it was the end of a 6-week kind of “project”, if you will, about poverty. I wish we had been there for the whole thing as I found it very profound just listening to the last part of the whole thing. As Dad stated that “we just scratched the surface on this topic” and we really don’t realize what an issue or possibly what poverty really is. As Christians we should always lend a helping hand no matter who it may be.

There were three pregnant women in the class, two of which appeared so pregnant that they could have probably given birth right there today if the sun was aligned just right . . . one of them spoke up stating that she noticed a very obviously underprivileged child one day when she was picking up her 6-year old from school. The child, she said, had pants on that looked like they should fit a child half his age. She took a bag of old clothes her kids had at home and the next time she saw the mother at school she went to her and discreetly told her that she would be doing her a favor by taking the clothes off of her hands. I was really touched by her story and it made me realize how lucky many of us are today and how much we really should reach out to help others in need. Whether you are a believer of God or not you can still feel the absolute rush of happiness it gives you as an individual when you do help someone who is truly in need. I’m now going to think of a project for my non-profit group to do for others. We had helped the community last Thanksgiving and Christmas, but I was large with child and wasn’t able to be there for it, Misty (my wonderful friend, trainer and Board Member for our non-profit), did all the work and said it was great to see the faces on the family we adopted when they gave them many donated items and gifts for Christmas. . .

Sophie did well in the nursery but she didn’t sleep a wink and was so extremely exhausted that she wasn’t even fussy but her little sparkling eyes were so heavy and as we waddled through the church crowd to the car she fell asleep in Daddy’s arms. So she transitioned from the car to her bed at my Dad’s and slept for about an hour. A bit after lunch Uncle Andy got his handy professional camera out and took a zillion pictures of Sophie, Kelton and then the two of them together. I can’t wait for Tracy to upload them. We’ll upload the pictures to Snapfish so that anyone can purchase professional-grade pictures if they want to frame some. I’ll also post them here too.

David and I made it home around 8pm this evening and I’m just about ready to crawl in my own bed and go off to dreamland . . . . All the pics on here were taken over the weekend. Her little dress and hat is what she wore to her first Easter Sunday!

Published in: on April 12, 2009 at 9:53 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://greerblog.wordpress.com/2009/04/12/hoppy-easter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I just want to gobble her up! Is she licking Sara in that pic?


Leave a comment